Agenda



AGENDA for a meeting of ATTAINMENT OF DISADVANTAGED CHILDREN TOPIC GROUP on WEDNESDAY, 23 MAY 2018 in the MIMRAM ROOM, County Hall, Hertford at 10.00 AM

MEMBERS OF THE TOPIC GROUP (7) - QUORUM (3)

J Billing, S Gordon, D Hart, T Howard (Chairman), J Jones, M A Watkin

Church Representatives (1)

*J Sloan

AGENDA

The meeting of the Topic Group is open to the public (this includes the press) and attendance is welcomed. However, there may be occasions when the public are excluded from the meeting for particular items of business. Any such items would be taken at the end of the public part of the meeting and listed under "Part Two ('closed') agenda".

The meeting room is fitted with an audio system to assist those with hearing impairment. Anyone who wishes to use this should contact main (front) reception.

Members are reminded that:

- (1) if they consider that they have a Disclosable Pecuniary Interest in any matter to be considered at the meeting they must declare that interest and must not participate in or vote on that matter unless a dispensation has been granted by the Standards Committee;
- (2) if they consider that they have a Declarable Interest (as defined in paragraph 5.3 of the Code of Conduct for Members) in any matter to be considered at the meeting they must declare the existence and nature of that interest. If a member has a Declarable Interest they should consider whether they should participate in consideration of the matter and vote on it.

^{*} denotes members appointed for education scrutiny matters only.

PART I (PUBLIC) AGENDA

1. APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMAN

To note that Tina Howard has been appointed Chairman of the Topic Group for the duration of its work.

2. GENERIC TOPIC GROUP INFORMATION

Report of the Head of Scrutiny

3. REMIT OF THE TOPIC GROUP

Report of the Head of Scrutiny

4. ATTAINMENT OF DISADVANTAGED STUDENTS

Report of the Head of Scrutiny

This report includes:-

- (a) Programme for the scrutiny
- (b) Background information

5. CONCLUSIONS AND RECOMMENDATIONS

To agree the conclusions and recommendations of the Topic Group and note the process for taking these forward.

If you require further information about this agenda please contact Michelle Diprose, Democratic Services Officer on telephone no. 01992 555566 or email michelle.diprose@hertfordshire.gov.uk. Agenda documents are also available on the internet at

https://cmis.hertfordshire.gov.uk/hertfordshire/Calendarofcouncilmeetings.aspx

The Scrutiny Lead Officer for this Topic Group is Charles Lambert, Scrutiny Officer, on telephone no. 01438 843630 or email charles.lambert@hertfordshire.gov.uk

KATHRYN PETTITT CHIEF LEGAL OFFICER